Connect with us

Travel & Postal

​Traveling notice: eYellow Card takes effect in Nigeria from April 1



eYellow card

By: Yinka Okeowo

The Federal Government of Nigeria has introduced electronic yellow card (eYellow Card) for international travellers out of the country.

This will replace the old card with effect from April 1 this year.

The yellow card is the international certificate of vaccination or prophylaxis.

According to the federal ministry of health, to obtain an e-yellow card, one has to register on the official website in addition to paying N2,000.

“The payment receipt will then be taken along with the applicant’s international passport to any port health services office to get vaccinated so as to complete the process”.

The ministry said it takes maximum of an hour for the card to be ready after vaccination, and that international travellers are to be vaccinated at least 10 days before travelling.

“August 1, 2018 marked the official expiry date of the old yellow card and commencement of issuance of electronic yellow card’.

“The card, which is machine-readable, and has the ability to store vaccination history of the holder, was designed to put an end to the era of fake yellow card issued by unauthorised personnel for years”.

“The card has increasingly become an essential travel document, with several embassies making it a prerequisite for visa application”, the ministry added.

A Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers 1 year of age and older coming from a country with risk of Yellow Fever transmission.


AFRICA – Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Togo, Uganda.

ALSO READ  Nigeria records $1.46 billion capital inflows in Q3 2020, grows by 13%

AMERICAS – Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela.


1. Registration for eYellow Fever Card requires your personal data

2. Your passport details

3. Payment/card details like Debit Cards or generic payment platform like Remita.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.