Connect with us


OGITMA: Gov. Abiodun applauds Ogun NCS for sustaining tradition of excellence



Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun
The Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun has commended the State chapter​​ of the Nigeria Computer Society, NCS, for always sustaining the tradition of excellence in the world of Information Technology.

Governor Abiodun gave the commendation at the 2020 Ogun Information Technology Merit Awards (OGITMA) and the investiture of new executive members organized by the State chapter of the Society as part of activities to celebrate the 10 years anniversary of the Society.

The Governor represented by the Special Adviser to the Governor on Information and Communication Technology, Mr. Dayo Abiodun expressed his happiness in that the State is making tremendous impact in Information Technology saying the efforts of the Society cannot be done away with.

Lending his voice at the event, the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Alhaji Salisu Shuaib charged the members to always come up with solutions to challenges being faced by ministries, departments and agencies of government.

In his remarks, the National President of Nigeria Computer Society, Prof. Adesina Sodiya said Ogun State chapter is a force to reckon with in the Society having produced four out of 14 National Presidents of the Society.

Prof. Sodiya who noted that this feat is not new because the State has been known to be the pacesetter State said, “the President or State Chairmen alone cannot move the Society forward”, calling on all members to be more committed and give their best.

On her part, the South West Coordinator of Nigeria Computer Society and the Chairman of the planning committee, Dr. Bukola Onashoga disclosed that the essence OGITMA was to promote Information Technology education, reward excellence as well as commitments to the growth of technology in the State, Nigeria and beyond.

In her welcome address, the Chairman of the Nigeria Computer Society, Ogun State chapter, Mrs. Olatundun Adekunte vowed to uphold the core value of the Society which is promoting Information Technology with the cooperation of the new executives and other members.

Highlight of the event was the presentation of different categories of Information Technology Awards to include; IT Legend of the year (Alhaji Ladi Ogunneye), IT Ambassador of the year (Prof. Musa Olomu), IT Personality of the year (Mr. Kazeem Tewogbade), IT Company of the year (GNL Systems), Internet Service Provider of the year (I-World Networks Limited), IT Solution Enabler of the year (TPL Amope Chokor), Most Distinguished member (Mr. Sodiq Onaolapo and special recognition awards amongst others.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.