Connect with us


Sanwo-Olu to chair Nigeria Computer Society 2021 NITMA conference, awards

Who wins Digital Governor Award? Who wears the crown as the IT Personality of the Year 2021? Watch out for NITMA awards 2021



Sanwo-Olu at NITMA 2021 (1)

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State has been penned down to chair year’s National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA) conference and awards, can report.


Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Also, Dr. Hamzat Obafemi, Lagos deputy governor shall be conferred with the prestigious Professional fellowship of NCS.

Professor Adesina Sodiya, president, Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) gave the hint to in Lagos, while announcing this year’s NITMA and conference, an annual event organised by NCS to recognise and celebrate excellence and commitment to the Information Technology profession.

The Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) is the umbrella body of all Information Technology (IT) professionals.

The computer professional body also promised to move the Information Technology profession to desirable heights in Nigeria.

As an advocacy group, Sodiya said the Nigeria Computer Society, would continue to work towards achieving sustainable development in Nigeria, and recognising excellence and exceptional individuals, professionals and corporate organisations who have made significant impact in the industry.

Prof. Adesina Sodiya, e-naira

President of NCS, Prof. Adesina Sodiya

“It is imperative and gratifying to regularly celebrate core IT professionals who are using technology to enhance national development. We shall be celebrating inventors, achievers and those that have broken barriers in Computer Science / Information Technology,” Sodiya said.

The most prestigious Professional Fellowships will be conferred on deserving members of NCS who are recognised as authorities and have distinguished themselves through significant contributions to the growth of Information Technology.

Honourary Fellowships will also be conferred on some individuals who have distinguished themselves through extraordinary service and commitment to IT growth in Nigeria, Sodiya further said.

ALSO READ  #BeAVoice: GTBank Rallies Support for Children With Autism

According to him, “Last year, we introduced another award – Digital Governor Award. With this award, NCS wishes to recognise outstanding governors that are making enormous investments in IT. This year, eight nominations were received and reviewed by the screening committee. The nominations were further pruned down to three based on commitment to full adoption and deployment of IT in their various states.”

Sanwo-Olu at NITMA 2021 (2)

Digital Governor of the Year nominees

Sodiya listed the three governors that were eventually considered for the 2021 Digital Governor Award to include the Executive Governor of Enugu State, Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi; the Executive Governor of Bauchi State, Senator Bala Mohammed and the Executive Governor of Nasarawa State, Abdullahi A. Sule. One of them will emerge winner, based on number of online votes attained, Sodiya said.

Speaking on the IT Personality of the Year 2021, also known as the NCS President’s Award, which recognises and celebrates grand individuals who have been adjudged to be champions in the field of IT, Prof. Sodiya said this will also be announced at the award forum, scheduled to hold November 18 in Lagos.

Sanwo-Olu at NITMA 2021 (3)

IT Personality of the Year 2021 nominees

The third major category of award is the IT Company of the Year 2021. This is a brand new award for indigenous IT company for outstanding performance and significance contributions to national development.

Sodiya said Mr Jim Ovia, the chairman of Zenith Bank, has again funded this year scholarship awards to support 35 students studying Computer Science and IT-related courses in Nigerian Tertiary Institutions. Jim Ovia has been funding NCS scholarship programme since 2015.

ALSO READ  UK Govt, Greenfields Law partner FG on digital inclusion conference

The scholarship recipients have additionally been promised automatic employment in any Jim Ovia organisation, provided such beneficiaries graduated with a minimum of second class upper division in their courses of study.


“This year NITMA will surely provide a strong indication of our commitment to celebrating talents and highlighting the creativity, excellence, vision, and dedication of individuals and organizations within the IT industry and community,” Sodiya said.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.