Connect with us


Bamidele Bayo-Osibo begins reign as President of NiWIIT



Bamidele Bayo-Osibo
President of NiWIIT, Bamidele Bayo-Osibo

Bamidele Bayo-Osibo (Mrs.) has emerged as the new President, Nigerian Women In Information Technology (NiWIIT).

She will lead the new executives for a period, 2020- 2022. NiWIIT is the women’s wing of the Nigeria Computer Society (NCS). Bayo-Osibo takes over from Dr. Florence Babalola.

The new National Executives were inaugurated on Wednesday, November 26, 2020 by the National President of NCS. Prof. Adesina Sodiya.

Speaking at the ceremony, Prof. Sodiya reiterated the Society’s excitements about the potentials of NiWIIT and Nigeria Computer Society leaders for the growth and development of IT ecosystem.

Bamidele Bayo-Osibo

Prof. Sodiya in a handshake with the new President of NiWIIT, Bamidele Bayo-Osibo, while the Executive Secretary, Iyiola Ayoola observes.

In his words, “In an association no other ceremony is as important as that of inaugurating the elected leaders. For those being inaugurated, it is a visible demonstration of their commitment and dedication to the Society.

Those of us who witness this event also play an important role in the ceremony because we, too, demonstrate our commitment to support and encourage our leaders during the coming year”.

He further admonished the executives to take their responsibilities very serious and remain accountable to the members of NiWIIT and NCS as large.

“You have been elected by the membership of NiWITT to represent their interests by serving as Officers.

All members have chosen you because you exemplify high standards of professional conduct”.

“During the next two years, they will expect you to handle the affairs of the Interest Group in an ethical and competent manner. This is an important responsibility”, he said.

ALSO READ  Ex-NCC spokesman and AfICTF President, Tony Ojobo to receive African Achievers Award in UK

The NCS President, also thanked the immediate past leadership of NiWIIT for their meritorious service and dedication to their duties.

Bamidele Bayo-Osibo

oath-taking ceremony

“Every President must devote a tremendous amount of time and energy to the duties and responsibilities of the office.

“It seems that with every passing year, these responsibilities grow. It takes a very talented and committed person to balance these responsibilities with a personal life and a professional life.

Bamidele Bayo-Osibo

oath-taking ceremony

“Dr. Florence Babalola has done a remarkable job of doing just that. Anyone who knows Dr. Babalola, is aware that NiWIIT is a very important part of her life.

“Dr. Babalola, in recognition and appreciation of your tenure as President of the NiWITT, please accept this (plaque). Thank you for what you have done for the NiWITT and for each of us individually.

Meanwhile, in her acceptance speech, the new President, Bamidele Bayo-Osibo (Mrs.) thanked the President of NCS, Professor Adesina Sodiya, the Provost College of Fellows of the NCS, Prof (Mrs) Adenike Osofisan and the iconic ladies of IT for their foresights and pious leadership; steering the IT profession in Nigeria in the right direction.

“I thank you all for the support shown and the trust reposed in me and the rest of the newly elected NIWIIT NEC.

“Our promise today is to serve NIWIIT to the best of our abilities. We however crave your continued support.

“We extend our thanks to all the outgoing NEC and all others NEC’s since the inception of this great body, for the foundations already laid, upon which I and the rest of the newly elected NEC are privileged to trod”.

ALSO READ  Nigeria Computer Society ready for (virtual) 11th International Conference – Prof. Sodiya

The new executives of NiWIIT (2020-2022) are:

  1. Bamidele Bayo-Osibo – President
  2. Ngozi Ifeanyi Arinze – Vice President
  3. Grace Dooshima Gbor – Assistant Secretary
  4. Funmilola Omojola – Treasurer
  5. Opeyemi Abiodun – Financial Secretary
  6. Abiola Mojisola Jide-Abe – Public Relations Officer
  7. Dr. Florence Babalola – Immediate Past President

Members of the National Executives of NiWIIT 2020-2022

The inauguration was witnessed by President of NCS, Professor Adesina Sodiya; Deputy President of NCS, Dr. Muhammad Sirajo Aliyu; the Provost College of Fellows of the NCS, Prof (Mrs) Adenike Osofisan; Former President of CPN Council, Alhaja Sekinat Olusola Yusuf; Chairperon, Electorial Committee of NiWIIT, Prof. Abimbola Soriyan; the Chair, Credentials Committee of NCS, Mrs. Elizabeth Orogun; Chair, Conferences Committee of NCS, Mr, Ayodeji Rex Abitogun; the Executive Secretary of NCS, Mr. Iyioola Ayola, amongst other fellows of the Society.


The new executives of NiWIIT in a group photographs with the President of NCS, the Deputy and other fellows of NCS

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.